Worship…Heads, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes « Vertical Resonator

At Topeka Bible Church, we are worshipping with fewer prompts from the stage (let’s stand together, let’s sing together) and giving worshippers more space (time) to respond to God in worship.

We we publish the following in the bulletin this week…

Worship is simply a response to God — giving Him the worth He’s due. While there are many expressions of worship in the Bible (singing, bowing down, standing, clapping, lifting hands, being still), we invite you to worship how you are wired or simply observe if this if your first time with us.

Which reminded me of a post from back in 2006 on this blog…

Consider the following. Which ones are accepted in your church? Which ones do you feel comfortable doing? Which ones would you not be caught doing?! Why or why not?

Our Voice

1. Speaking – Psalm 34:1 says, “I will extol the Lord at all times; his praise will always be on my lips.”

2. Shouting – Psalm 27:6 says, “Then my head will be exalted above the enemies who surround me; at his tabernacle will I sacrifice with shouts of joy; I will sing and make music to the Lord.”

3. Singing – Psalm 47:6 says, “Sing praises to God, sing praises to our King, sing praises.”

Our Posture

1. Bowing – Psalm 95:6 says, “Come let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker.”

2. Standing – Psalm 119:120 says, “My flesh trembles in fear of you; I stand in awe of your laws.”

3. Dancing – Psalm 149:3 says, “Let them praise his name with dancing and make music to him with tambourine and harp.”

Our Hands

1. Playing Instruments – Psalm 33:2, 3 says, “Praise the Lord with the harp; make music to him on the ten stringed lyre. Sing to him a new song; play skillfully, and shout for joy.”

2. Clapping – Psalm 47:1 says, “Clap your hands, all you nations; shout to God with cries of joy.”

3. Lifting Hands – Psalm 63:4 says, “I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands.”

[Content taken from “Nine Ways to Worship” by Stephen M. Newman]

God help me to express Your worthiness like David did. I don’t want to be concerned about what others think of me as I worship You. I want You to be concerned with how I worship You. God, there are times I don’t fully express how I love you because of what others think of me. Forgive me for putting others before You when it comes to how I worship You.

via Worship…Heads, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes « Vertical Resonator.

2 Responses to Worship…Heads, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes « Vertical Resonator

  1. Janice Stumpff says:

    I was wondering what the name of the song was that you sang last Sunday. I had never heard it before. Is it from a particular artist and CD? I really liked the message in the words.

    Not knowing when and if to stand last week was a little confusing. Also the announcements at the end of Jim’s wonderfully thought provoking sermon seemed out of place.

  2. verticalresonator says:

    Thanks for sharing your preferences in worship Janice. You are right, not being prompted to stand/sit and switching the order of worship can seem confusing and out of place. We are praying these changes will cause us as worshippers to question, “What is it I am really doing when I worship…and why?”

    The song you are referring to is “Clear the Stage” — the lyrics can be found online here >

    http://www.lyricstime.com/ross-king-clear-the-stage-lyrics.html

Leave a Reply

