Worship Tip: What’s your backup plan? February 15, 2010 #sundaysetlist #sundaysetlists

I had a phone conversation with a well-respected college basketball head coach last night about the leadership principle of “replacing yourself.” This past weekend was about as close as I can get – because people are going to start wondering what they are paying me for.  Frankly, that’s the way is should be.

Here’s how this leadership principle played out this past weekend. This past weekend the orchestra was slated to lead worship with the band.  It was awesome to sit in the brass section to play and watch others lead.  (It was also nice to sit next to Nat Diliberto – another guy on technical/facility staff who was playing trumpet this past weekend…phenomenal trumpet player.) Alex Wilson did a fine job of leading the band in the Main Auditorium (MA).  Joel Davidson is someone I can always trust to get things right out of sight; he was in the Lower Auditorium (LA).  Sam Cho is respected by the orchestra and got through six songs for them to play; that’s a lot of songs for a weekend with one rehearsal.  And Rick Crouch did a fine job of leading the vocalists in the Main Auditorium (MA).  If people were a visitor this past weekend at Topeka Bible Church, they’d have no clue that I was the leader.  When the opening New Doxology (with The Who twist) began, I was smiling large…not because of what I’ve done…but because of how God has helped up place the right components in place.

On to the worship tip video for this week…this week’s topic is “Have a Backup Plan.” Simple.  But overlooked.  Since making this video several weeks ago, I realized that I had no backup plan for our click tracks.  If I had dropped the iPod in the toilet, that’s where the click tracks would be as well.  Sure, the clicks/loops are stored on my computer…but I needed something that I could immediately put in it’s place.  So we now have a second iPod fired up with the same clicks and loops.  Yes, if we didn’t have click tracks and loops, it would be a show stopper…because of our synchronized bands.

(If you are reading this in your RSS feed or email, then you’ll want to hit the actual site to catch the video.)

Subscribe to the YouTube stream to catch future tips automatically.

View the full outline for this past weekend.

iPod Click Track Playlist for INSERT_SUNDAY_DATE
  1. ___ TEST AND SOUND CHECK TRACKS BELOW
  2. Test – click LEFT and loop RIGHT
  3. Sound Check – Full Band
  4. Sound Check – Vocals
  5. ___ WORSHIP SETS BELOW
  6. SET 1 – created February 9, 2010
  7. ___ PAUSE click here (cue)
  8. SET 2 – created February 11, 2010
  9. ___ PAUSE click here (cue)
  10. ___ END click here (cue)
  11. ___ SINGLE CLICK TRACKS BELOW
  12. New Doxology – loop and click 86
  13. You’re Worthy of My Praise – loop and click 97
  14. Hear Our Praises – loop and click 130 BPM
  15. ___ PAUSE click here (cue)
  16. I Give You My Heart – loop and click 78 BPM
  17. Jesus Messiah – loop and click 86
  18. Prayer – 30 second spacer
  19. I Am Free – loop and click 136 BPM
  20. ___ END click here (cue)
  21. ___ FULL SONGS BELOW
  22. New Doxology (E)
  23. You’re Worthy of My Praise (E)
  24. Hear Our Praises (C)
  25. I Give You My Heart (G)
  26. Jesus Messiah (A)
  27. I Am Free (A)

Watch/listen to last weekend’s message

Links to other setlists:

One Response to Worship Tip: What’s your backup plan? February 15, 2010 #sundaysetlist #sundaysetlists

  1. Rich says:

    I’ve written a post about having a backup plan and the steps to take before the lights go out so to speak…thought it might contribute to the topic at hand…

    http://sounddoxology.blogspot.com/2009/07/when-lights-go-out-technology-in.html

Leave a Reply

